NHS: won’t help, will section you

Gog here.

After the last blog post I was feeling very frustrated and like nobody was listening to me or offering us any help. Nobody seemed to understand that every single day was a living nightmare.

The GP surgery had given me a 4 week wait for an appointment with Anon’s GP, or a 5 day wait for a telephone appointment with any GP.

I decided to phone NHS 111, and spoke to someone there.

I told her about Anon’s hallucinations, anxiety, terror, and the difficulty of everyday life. I told her about the help (or lack of) we had been offered.

I was put on hold for 10 minutes, and when she came back on the line I was told “I want you to phone your GP surgery back and tell them that NHS 111 has told you that your partner needs to be given a physical appointment with a Doctor in the next 24 hours. If you have any problems phone 111 back.”

This was on a Friday night too! Thank you so much NHS 111 🙂

I phoned the GP surgery back and the receptionist (one who has helped us before) said she would get a Doctor to call me asap. Ten minutes later I had a phone call.

This Doctor was the rudest medical professional I have ever spoken with. I am so glad it was just me talking to him on the phone and not an appointment with Anon there, because she would never want to see a Doctor again.

He asked to speak with Anon five times throughout a 5 minute phone call, even though there is a note on the system saying she cannot speak on the phone, and I am her carer and everyone should talk to me.

When I repeatedly said he couldn’t talk to her on the phone, he said there was nothing he could do, he couldn’t assess her. I told him “I called you in a desperate situation asking for medical advice, and you are telling me there is nothing you can do?”

He replied: “What do you want me to do about it?”

THIS IS A MEDICAL PROFESSIONAL, A DOCTOR! I NEEDED HELP URGENTLY!

I again said I needed help and asked what I should do, and he implied I should take Anon to A&E and have her sectioned!! I almost threw the phone against the wall, but instead I calmly said he hadn’t helped at all and hung up. I then phoned the surgery back and asked for the Doctors’ name that I had just spoken with; I did this so I could have a formal complaint made against him.

The receptionist asked if I was unhappy with the phone call, and when I said yes she told me she would get another GP to call me back, bless. I got a phone call from her five minutes later saying if we could get to the surgery in 10 minutes we could have an appointment.

I persuaded Anon, and we ran to the GP & were taken into a room with a Doctor neither of us had seen before.

Anon was in a state, obviously, but the Doctor didn’t even attempt to include her in the conversation – when Anon’s GP saw her looking just as bad, he made sure to tell Anon he understood this was difficult, tell her she was doing well, thank her for coming etc.

This Doctor didn’t talk to Anon once. He talked to me and his questions were: “Is she a suicide risk? Is she experiencing hallucinations? Has she hurt you?” It was disgusting.

He also got several things wrong, very obvious things.

  1. He thought Anon was taking 30mg of Quetiapine (she hasn’t been taking Quetiapine for 8 months, and even then it was 300mg not 30mg)
  2. He said that the note on the system said we were supposed to have seen SPOA but “never turned up for the appointment” – I had to as calmly as possible explain that they messed up and sent the letter to the wrong place!
  3. The GP phoned Crisis Team (who offered no help) and told them that Anon had been taking Olanzapine – Anon has never taken, and never would, take Olanzapine: it said Quetiapine on the computer right in front of him!
  4. He told Crisis Team that we “didn’t bother to turn up to an appointment with Single Point of Access” – I JUST TOLD YOU IT WAS THEM THAT MESSED UP!!

As it stands we are still waiting for the nurse to phone us back on Tuesday (that’s if she actually does this time) and the GP prescribed Anon Valium in the mean time. He said it would act as a sedative and essentially knock her out until hopefully a psychiatrist can see us.

Interestingly enough this comes with the Valium information:

Valium is not recommended in the treatment of psychotic patients and should not be employed instead of appropriate treatment

That is exactly what they are using it for.

They have prescribed it to a psychotic patient to knock her out, because they don’t want to rush for an urgent appointment where she would be prescribed treatment that could actually help, eg. anti psychotics.

The GP told us to keep the telephone appointment we have on Wednesday, in case nothing is sorted by then, but I need to phone up and switch Doctors because the call is supposed to be with the “what do you want me to do?” Doctor…

I feel like this blog is good not only as a place to vent, but as a diary of what happened when and which services fucked up.

6 thoughts on “NHS: won’t help, will section you

  1. Pingback: Please tell me this isn’t mania… | Bipolar-and-Us

  2. Pingback: Emergency GP appointment | Bipolar-and-Us

  3. Pingback: They have to be joking, right? | Bipolar-and-Us

  4. Pingback: Panic and Valium | Bipolar-and-Us

  5. Pingback: How much louder can I ask for help?? | Bipolar-and-Us

  6. Pingback: A&E, sectioning & medication | Bipolar-and-Us

Leave a Reply

