Mood mapping / chart for Bipolar

Anon writing this šŸ™‚

I’m still fairly manic, but since we started taking a fairly small dose of Abilify, I feel much better…I can think, I can concentrate on most things, and although I get distracted fairly easily it’s not hideously bad.

Plus I’m not bouncing off the walls and talking so fast Gog has to remind me to breathe šŸ˜‰

We still haven’t heard anything from the NHS ( = good for me, I don’t want to see a psych!), which means I’m taking the Abilify without a medical professional knowing…but they haven’t offered us any help, and I took Abilify for a long time. I *know* it helps with psychosis and mania, it’s just the depression & shitty side effects that meant I couldn’t stay on it.

Anyway, I have been looking for places where I can chart my mood / symptoms. Preferably this would be online, as I barely use a mobile phone. I found a few, but none that really clicked with me.

The closes I got was one through the DBSA, but I still found it hard to use, confusing, and it wasn’t exactly what I wanted.

This is where Gog came in!

I am not good with technology; Gog is. He created a *brain blank* nooooo! My brain has lost what it was saying – agh! This is one of my most annoying symptoms…shit. I’ll just show you the photos. Maybe the word will come.

Click to enlarge the photos šŸ™‚

So it has the date (you can easily add a few entries for the same day, too) and then you mark each column out of ten, or whatever number you choose.

The first is marking your mood (for me 1 = suicidal, 10 = manic & psychotic). Next you rate:
Calm and relaxed
Sleep
Hopelessness
Anxiety
Sadness
Suicidal
Irritability
Impulsivity
Racing thoughts
Concentration (ability to concentrate)
And there’s an extra bit to add notes to.

I love this! It is so much better than any I have found online and Gog says he can easily turn it into a graph too, so you can see the ebb and flows. I’ve only been using it two days so far, but I’ll try keep up with it šŸ™‚

Also, he says he thinks he could make it so that other people could download (?) the layout and use it themselves.

Or feel free to create something similar, and choose your own score system, headlines and colours!

**edited to add** Spreadsheet! That’s the word I lost!

One thought on “Mood mapping / chart for Bipolar

  1. Pingback: From the murky depths to the skies | Bipolar-and-Us

Leave a Reply

