Slowing down with mania

Gog here again. I seem to write a lot when Anon isn’t doing so well. Helps me feel like I’m pulling my weight with this blog.

Anon’s thoughts are speeding today which ironically often makes her much slower at talking and typing. It can take several hours to write a blog, if she’s able to concentrate long enough to write one at all.

Sounds like an oxymoron doesn’t it, mania slowing her down.

But because Anon’s head is racing so fast she can’t pluck the words out as they rush past, and she can’t focus on conversing – she once described it by saying “imagine you have a bowl of earthworms, all wriggling about and identical. You are looking for one specific earthworm, and you only have a short time to find it…it’s impossible!”

She quite often talks in analogies when she is ill, it makes it easier for her. Maybe it’s the writer in her. Some of these analogies are hilarious, some are amazingly clever.

One time she said her brain is like a sponge saturated with water because of all the racing thoughts and hallucinations, and trying to concentrate on the TV or what people are saying is impossible because she can’t soak up anymore information…I love her analogies, they’re clever and they help me to get a glimpse into how she is doing too.

Anyway today at points she has really really struggled to talk – earlier today it took her several minutes to manage to form one sentence, but she did it. “You know I……read…that……when – no, with….Mini Lops…” etc.

THIS IS YET ANOTHER WAY SHE STRUGGLES TO COMMUNICATE WITH PEOPLE.

Yet the benefits system says she “just” talks fast?? She’s manic right now, so in the best place she ever is for talking with others as long as her psychosis isn’t too bad, but she couldn’t talk to anyone right now.

Thoughts keep getting stolen from her head which unnerves her too. Halfway through a sentence she will stop talking and the entire sentence, topic, whatever, has just completely vanished. She thinks her thoughts have been stolen from her head, and then worries that if people can take her thoughts they can insert their thoughts into her head too.

Nevertheless we’re in a much better place than we usually are, we just need to stop this mania from rising any higher.

2 thoughts on “Slowing down with mania

  1. It IS counter intuitive that you can slow down with mania….but god I can relate. When my brain speeds up that fast – the world seems like a crawl around me. Eventually it gets so intense, the ability to break down every avenue, every event, EVERYTHING, that it essentially fries out my ability to convey the millions of tangled threads I see. All of a sudden I seem to shutdown – its the only way to keep from crossing that dangerous border into psychotic.

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s exactly it, everything else seems so slow to her. If I have to help my partner do anything she’s constantly frustrated and often ends up snapping at me to hurry up – to me I’m going a perfectly normal speed, to her I’m moving at a snails’ pace…it must be incredibly frustrating.

      Quite often my partner looks entirely shut down, as you say, and it’s simply because inside she’s moving so damn fast…but from the outside you’d think she was extremely depressed rather than manic.

      Thanks for the comment, always nice to know other people go through similar things 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

