Living the dream!

For the past five years I’ve had short hair. No matter how hard I tried to grow it long, I couldn’t, because when I was manic I’d shear it all off.

My partner could watch me 24/7 to try and prevent it (and I’d ask him to when I wasn’t manic because I really wanted long hair!) but manic me would always find a way to chop it off – when he was in the shower, sleeping or even on the loo!

I want to grow my hair so desperately because I love wearing it in different styles, brushing it and tying it up. I love dying it bright colours and wearing plain clothes so it seems even brighter.

It was annoying having me ruin my plans over and over again!

In more recent times I shaved all my hair off due to psychosis, as short and close-to-bald as you can get. And I haven’t been able to grow it back…too much mania, too much psychosis. So I was stuck with really, really short hair!

I don’t know what made me think it, but I recently thought I could try wigs.

I don’t mind having short hair at all, I quite like it, but I hate going out in public with my head uncovered because you get a lot of stares, shouts of ‘are you a girl or a boy’ etc.

Now I know I don’t hardly ever post photos of mysel, but I ordered two wigs recently, both very brightly coloured, and one arrived today. I LOVE it! ๐Ÿ™‚

I feel much more confident and comfortable in my own skin now ^__^

It was a really cheap fancy dress wig, because I wanted to see if I would be comfortable wearing a wig, and if there was even any point trying to wear a wig. Because it’s so cheap you do have to wear a headband or hat with it if the hair is tied back (otherwise the netting shows through the hair) but I have no problem with that…I really love it ๐Ÿ™‚

colour

I hate this photo but you can see all the colours ๐Ÿ™‚

So not only can I actually have hair, but I can take it off when my psychosis is causing issues and wear lots of different hair styles, lengths and colours!

colour3

2 thoughts on “Living the dream!

  1. Hey!

    Iโ€™m loving your blog. Please, keep sharing your story.

    I would also like to invite you to submit a short piece to my own. I think your perspective and style of writing would be a perfect piece for my project.

    Itโ€™d also be a great way to get your blog/writing out there.

    Please feel free to email me (jennifer@youngandtwenty) with more questions, or take a look at the โ€˜BEING Young & Twentyโ€™ page on my blog.

    I hope I’ll hear from you ๐Ÿ™‚

    Jennifer

    youngandtwenty.com

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

