Sleep

I’m not sure I’ve ever slept so much in my life, even the times I’ve slept a stupid amount due to depression.

This time the sleep is caused by seizures – not only have we figured that lack of sleep is a surefire way to guarantee a day filled with seizures, but we’ve also discovered that napping when I feel even slightly tired is great for resetting my brain.

Yesterday I had a lot of seizures and ended up sleeping 4pm-6am, today I had a few absence seizures but otherwise was good, but still needed a 2hr nap around 3pm. No seizures since and my head isn’t even that spacey 🙂

It’s so easy for mental health professionals, or family and friends, to say that the most important thing we can do is stick to a schedule – especially a sleep schedule!

But there are a lot of illnesses where, if we listen to our body, sleep can be extremely beneficial and we should sleep whenever we need to. Sleep’s wonderful for healing, it can help boost your mood, reset your brain, and often you feel more energised.

For five years I had every single professional tell me how important it was to stick to a sleep schedule, that I MUST NOT sleep more than 8 hours a night and I must NEVER EVER EVER nap in the day.

And I tried to live that way for years, and it was hell!

Now I listen to my body. I nap when it says I need to, if I wake from a nap and I’m still tired I’ll return to bed and sleep until my body is ready to wake…it’s been amazingly helpful. Nine times out of ten when I wake my head is clear, my mood is brighter, and I have absolutely no inklings of a seizure.

The way me and my partner summed it up today is: we’d rather I lost a few hours to a nap and woke feeling better, than fought through tiredness and had multiple seizures, losing a whole day and risking injury. It’s not rocket science.

Medical professionals have their place and sure, they can have useful advice to offer…but at the end of the day you know your body best, and if you’ve been struggling with an illness for years you’ll most likely know what works for you best. Back to those blanket statements again, huh?! 😀

Leave a Reply

