Episodic Dyscontrol Syndrome

Recently we discovered I fit all the criteria for Episodic Dyscontrol Syndrome.

The rage ties into my seizures, and previously I had been calling it seizure rage. My partner did some research into this the other day, and we discovered EDS. Whilst seizure rage is less extreme anger, and not usually directed at a person, EDS is uncontrollable rage, which focuses on one person, and causes the sufferer to lash out verbally and physically.

This is me.

Usually it’s something small that triggers the episode, something that may mildly frustrate the person, but the EDS makes you fly off the handle. Because you can’t control the anger or your behaviour, but you remember it afterwards, the sufferer is often left with crippling guilt.

THIS. IS. ME!!

I’ve never been an angry or violent person. Sure, in mania I might be very irritable, but the rage and violence I experience with my seizures is unbelievable…and as a result the guilt is overwhelming. It leads to depressive episodes, and stress which causes more seizures.

Since finding an explanation for my behaviour, we both feel much better. I still feel like shit after episodes, but it’s nice to have a reason. Now if only we could find a way to manage it…

I would hope that CBD oil could reduce it, but it doesn’t seem to. CBD oil has taken my seizures from 25-35 seizures a day to 8-15, but the EDS symptoms continue…

2 thoughts on “Episodic Dyscontrol Syndrome

  1. Even though I have had epilepsy for a long time, I am still learning more about the condition. I am happy that CBD oil has helped reduce the number of seizures. I hope you find a way to manage your epilepsy. Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you 🙂 I didn’t even know I was having seizures up until about 12 months ago, as my seizures are simple / complex partial seizures and we always thought they were symptoms of my bipolar. It was quite a revelation and made a lot of sense! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

