Hobbies

Epilepsy stole many hobbies from me.

I can’t hike as much as I used to (and I certainly can’t go out alone, as I have seizures on most walks), I can’t play video games, enjoy handheld consoles, read, write, enjoy photography, or watch TV. Those were basically all the hobbies I have ever enjoyed.

So I had to branch out.

I discovered needle felting, which I enjoy, although if I have a simple partial seizure and automatically carry on with what I was doing, the fast-stabby needle can be somewhat dangerous πŸ˜›

More recently I tried hand stamping.

This isn’t really that good a hobby for me, as I get hugely frustrated when I make a mistake and have little patience. With needle felting, mistakes can be easily gone over or redone. With hand stamping the product is normally ruined.

I’ve definitely improved from when I first started, but the progress hasn’t quite been enough yet!

The samples that came with the kit are really soft, which means they’re super easy to stamp. I actually got pretty good with them, aside from goofing which way some letters sat πŸ˜‰

Since then I bought some brass tags in, which you have to hit a lot harder. This causes the letters to jump about a lot more. I’ve done about ten brass tags, and this is the best I have so far.

I was really pissed with the jumping letters on the top two, because I used the single strike method, where you hit the stamp once…so how it jumped enough to imprint the letters twice, far apart, beats me!

Does anyone have any spoonie-friendly hobbies, that don’t involve light? I’m always on the lookout for more πŸ™‚

So far I’ve tried:
– soap carving
– needle felting
– hand stamping
– (and I will be trying) paper folding!

I prefer hobbies that produce things that can be used for something, even if it’s just given as a gift.

3 thoughts on “Hobbies

  1. HI! I tried to reblog this post because I like it so much but then I realised I didn’t ask your permission, I’ve deleted it. Sorry if that was annoying I am new to blogging so not always sure. Looking forward to seeing more of your work πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

