Bad bits and good bits

Today got off to a shit start, with my GP surgery being major dicks yet again!

My bf phoned up to ask if the surgery could legally do a blood test if I was having a seizure.  As far as we knew I was on the waiting list for a home test, but we’d been waiting for months and thought with my new polarized goggles I could get in and out fairly easily…we just wouldn’t want to get there, me to have a seizure, and them to say “we can’t legally do it now, come back another day!”…and it’d NEVER be done!!

The receptionist was actually disgusting. She treated my bf like shit. She told him he was wasting their time asking this question, that “there’d be Dr’s there” if I did have a seizure, and – the best bit! – snapped “You’re not having a home visit, if that’s what you’re after!”

Firstly, that IS NOT what we were after, secondly according to the previous receptionist we spoke to we were already on that list!!!

Thanks for letting us know we weren’t at all XD

After receiving no answer, we hung up. We then phoned Epilepsy Action’s advice line, who were almost as unhelpful and out of date in their information…according to them seizures cannot be triggered by fluorescent lighting?!?

Quick google search showed me many others were also triggered by fluorescent / LED lighting, and this post on an epilepsy forum hit home as I share a lot of these triggers!

Anyway.

The benefit of this was that we discovered a new GP surgery in our town. It’s in a small house, so has normal lighting, and means I don’t have to deal with the shitty staff anymore…yay!

Today I went out for 3 hours, which was really fun! It resulted in a high number of seizures (21 simple partial, and 3 complex partial), but without my polarized goggles it would have been much more, and I wouldn’t have been able to do anywhere near as much 🙂

Here’s me in a brightly lit shop!!

spoonie

And we even had a meal at a pub 😀

And an ice cream with a view for desert!!

Awesome day 🙂

A few hours after we got back home, my brain crashed and I had to take a codeine for a migraine…but it was worth it!

Leave a Reply

